First Blog Day

Today is my last free day before I return to school. For those of you who don’t know me, I have been absent for the last couple of days from Indiana University due to my recent exposure to the flu. It has not been a fun experience. Tomorrow, regardless of how I feel however I must return as delaying my schoolwork any further will really set me back and will make it darn near impossible to catch back up.

This is also my very first blog entry of 2013. I have made blogs in the past but find it very hard to keep up with. I think the problem is I set very high goals as to how often I want to publish posts, or how well rounded I want them to be. I think my biggest flaw is the fact that I try to over think my blogs and therefore never write anything I can complete because I find myself constantly editing. I have decided that for the time being as I adjust to writing my blog, that I will simply say that I will write as often as I can when I can and then only write what I am thinking about at the time.

My name is (anonymous) for now at least. In the future maybe I will add further details. What I can tell you is that I am a student at Indiana University. I am currently in my last semester in order to receive my bachelor in Arts and Science. I am a huge fan of technology, and what the future may hold.

I have been married to my amazing wife, (anonymous as well), for a little less than a year, whom I love dearly. We live in a small two bedroom apartment, along with my father, who has recently suffered a stroke, and my youngest sister who was under my father’s care. They came to live with us a few months back and although that transition was one of the hardest trials my wife and I have had to face thus far in our marriage, I do believe we are through the worst of it and things are starting to run a little smoother. It was a difficult transition because we were up against things that neither one of us had ever dealt with. Now we are receiving guidance from our pastor, (as always anonymous), and he has been helping us resolve the issues that we were having.

Now the only thing I am currently battling is piles of paperwork between my family’s bills and my father’s. Its not impossible to tackle, but between me and my wife, we keep battling sickness. I have challenged myself over the last month or so to not let sickness keep me down however, and so far it hasn’t.

Today we have an appointment with my sister’s counselor who will be joining us shortly and giving me and my wife guidance as to how to help raise a 16 year old girl. It just so happens that is one thing neither one of us has ever had to do so far. I’m praying though that we will be ahead of the game the next time we face this challenge in the years ahead.

My poor sister. We had to go to the health center today to have her immunizations brought up to date. If there is one thing my sister hates more than anything, it’s needles. And today she had to have three. Two of them were in her right arm and one in her left. And let me just say those needles aren’t small either. The best part about it though, is that these needles are different than any other needles I had seen up until this point. After the shot has been administered, the needle will give a loud pop and will retract back up into the syringe. The first time it happened, both me and my sister jumped out of our skins. I don’t know what she thought, but my first thought was that the needle had broken off inside her. You would think that they would at least warn people that there will be a loud noise that will follow shortly after the shot is done. What would happen if my sister had jumped too soon and the needle hadn’t been retracted yet. Well let’s not think about it.

My wife and I have recently become addicted to a show that is actually going off the air soon. “Fringe”. I use to watch it all the time every week as new episodes came out but once I met my wife, and we began to date each other, my priorities changed as I’m sure you can imagine. Now we have started watching the show from the beginning and with in only a couple of days, we have almost managed to complete the first season. I am psyched because, I know what is happening thus far, although my wife doesn’t, and it is very hard for me to keep my mouth shut. I just want to get through the episodes I have seen as quickly as possible in order to get to the ones I haven’t seen.

My wife just called a few moments ago, she is on her way back from her classes to be here when we meet my sister’s counselor. I think me and her both are extremely ready to be finished for school. At least for now. I probably will go back in the future as may she. But for now, we are both tired of pop quizzes, studying into the wee hours of the morning, wondering if we will get any time to simply spend with each other. In other words we are really burnt out with school as my wife says and I tend to agree with that assessment.

Speaking of my wife she just walked in the door, and since I don’t know when I will get to spend time with her again, I will say farewell for now.

Leave a comment